Sunday marking

Marking is your lesson plan.  

This is what I am constantly told and then I look at the pile of 150 odd books and wish I had this magic marking machine that would just pump the books through for me.  Don’t get me wrong I believe in marking but planning always takes the baton because, frankly, I don’t want to look as though I don’t know what I am doing in front of a large group of teenagers.

So today, I had a set of 30 year 11 books to mark.  They have been practising planning responses using SADOC.  This is a tried and tested method from my old school.

S – Spider leg – the main idea / point being made in the paragraph

A – Add detail – the three ideas that will feed into the main idea

D – Device – the linguistic / structural devices you will include within the paragraph (min 2)

O – order – the order in which this paragraph will appear – is it the first main paragraph?  2nd?  Third?

C – connective or adverbial – the word you are choosing to start your paragraph with.

 

Here is an example SADOC plan a student produced for a Writing to Inform task in which they had to write a letter to a foreign student, informing them about our school.

 

Image

Then using the SADOC plan, they construct their written response.  I heavily annotate this response.  Yes, I have to annotate for literacy errors but other than that I annotate with absolutely everything that is good about the piece.  Here is an example:

Image

However, having Ofsted in and knowing one of the areas I need to develop is differentiation, I decided to try and up this a level.  Whilst they were writing new paragraphs this week for a persuasive speech, I gave students a set of criteria.  These were differentiated according to the target grade of the student.  An example of a B grade sheet is below

Image

 

The idea being that as they complete their work, they are ticking off the criteria they have met.  Then at the end of the lesson, students were asked to peer assess the work and go through the same process.  On this occasion they weren’t asked to make comments but in future I think I might get them to do this.  The students then had time to respond to the peer checking before I collected the work in ready to look at myself, this weekend.

Now it so happens that when I started marking these this afternoon, I found some stampers I ordered 3-4 years ago which i thought might come in great use as a visual way of showing students the skills they had met and not met.  So as I was reading through the paragraphs of work, I identified whether I felt that they had met the skill or not – citing examples if I thought they had and asking questions for reflection if I felt they had not or giving them an instruction to complete.  Then I decided whether i felt the student needed more work on a certain skill set or not and used the green and amber stamper to highlight this to the student.  The addition of this stamper means the student immediately can see the areas they need to develop.  In tomorrow’s lesson, they will use the starter to respond to the feedback and meet their improvement targets.

Image

 

Leave a Reply

